Creamy Wild Mushroom Risotto

More mushrooms. I think its called “immersion therapy”. The more I expose mushrooms to my kitchen, the more I can appreciate them for more than the funny looking fungus that they are.  Every time I chop up mushrooms I remember making mushroom duxelles and cream of mushroom soup at my alma mater, Arizona Culinary Institute. I have some incredibly fond memories from school, though almost none as dear to me as getting grief from Chef Wolf about my loathe of mushrooms, tarragon and putting ketchup on everything. I’ve never had an instructor who was so damn approachable and REAL! Have you ever sang songs from the South Park movie with your teacher while roasted peppers over a flame? Have you ever quoted Team America or Anchorman with someone teaching you how to fabricate fish? I have. And to top it all off, I even got to sing Phantom of the Opera songs with Laz at minimal annoyance to Chef Wolf. He always told me he would convert me to mushroom dish acceptance and a love of tarragon. He accomplished 50% of that statement. I still hate tarragon.

Risotto is something I really enjoy making. Scratch that- I love making it. Some people find massages or hiking to be their main go to for relaxing. I make risotto. There is just something about slowly stirring the arborio rice with hot stock and watching it release its starchy goodness to become a dish barely resembling rice. Arborio rice is an Italian short-grain rice. It is grown in the Po Valley and gets its name from the town Arborio in the region. The Po Valley is also known for raising fruits, sugar beets and livestock.  We are fans of this area of Italy, yes? Yes.

Cooking the rice takes longer than the mushrooms, but for the sake of not drying out the risotto, I make the mushrooms first. They are fine to let sit on low while the risotto is cooking. For the mushrooms, I kept it simple and ,s, butter, S&P, white wine vinegar- just a splash, and fresh thyme at the end. Let these beauties simmer down to au sec, almost dry, and put them aside *covered!!* until the risotto is almost done. Before you deliver your last ladle of hot stock and add the cheese to the risotto, add the mushrooms. Obviously, each dish has its own flavor at this point, so it is important to know how they blend at this stage, eliminating a need to rebuild flavors at the end. Stir, stir, gently!

Taste!

Add the cheese (good mascarpone and freshly grated parmesan). If your pan is giving you resistance and your heavenly dish is gunky and heavy, loosen it up with a little bit more stock. Time and rest will bring it back together, so it is better to err on the “too loose” side. Taste again.

63d

This can be served as an entire meal by adding a salad or soup and a chunk of good bread. I included it as a side for another dish, but it was SUCH the show stealer that I will rethink that decision the next time I make it.

Stop by to see what fate awaits the leftovers…

Leave a Reply

