Turkey meatballs and the miracle of mirepoix.

I love the color red.

I love its many shades and levels of brilliance.

I love the emotions it evokes and suppresses.

I love how when you mention “red” in any historical context, there is an automatic association somewhere in your brain.

I love what red means in food language.

And lets not even talk wine.

No.

Lets don’t.

Okay?

Sigh. Thanks.

How many colors can you say ALL of those things about? Sure they get the shades or the food language (greens!!), but all of those? I dont think so. Red is pretty stand alone there.

That being said, I rarely eat red meat. It is not because I dislike it. I LOVE RED MEAT!! I love it rare-medium rare. I love the way it smells being cooked to perfection. I am infatuated with the perrrffeeecct bite of steak. Its nearly lusty. damn…

I want a steak.

But it wont happen. I limit my red meat intake to a zilth of a degree. It is barely there, and if it is, I am typically eating somewhere other than home. Its just worked its way out of my diet. I love how it tastes, but hate how I feel, physically, afterwards. So nope. Just avoids.

There are sooo many meals that seem to revolve around red meat; meals that we feel like we would lose if red meat were to disappear from our fridges and tables. Not so, my reader, not so. Juicy, flavorful meals are to be had with the absence of red meat! Its that dinner party that you invited your vivacious friend to (but they bailed, cuz duuh, they’re your fun friend and triple booked themselves) but had to go solo last minute with no regrets, because you charmed everyone’s pants off. Yep. Pants charming meatballs.

Charming pants meatballs?

… some things should just stay in the natural sentence order. But that was fun.

The key to the juicy awesomeness? Mirepoix. Mere-eh-pwaw. Perfect! High five! Look at us, all fancy French speaking status. I’m so proud. Mirepoix is, very simply, the DNA of cooking. It is everything. At its most basic form is celery, carrots and onions with a 1:1:2 ratio. There are alllll kinds of mirepoix which I am sure I will touch on at some point in this blog. So chop your veggies super small. I like to use handy dandy tools like a food processor for things such as this. Makes it easy and fast, WIN! So the veggies are small, the turkey is seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder and a few shakes of Worcestershire, one egg and about 1/4C of bread crumbs. Depending on how fresh the turkey is, you may need more. I literally had the amazing people at Sprouts freshly grind the turkey, so it was ultra moist (yummm, drool). Mix, but do not mutilate. Once its all mixed, roll them into whatever size balls you like. Mine were moderately large, but I am kind of dramatic and I like my food to make a point. LOOK AT ME!!!

The next step was purely experimental: Fry or Bake? BOTH!! I did one batch fried by first dredging them in flour, smacking off the excess and into a large sauce pan with 1/2″ of oil-butter combo. Cook each side until nice and crispy brown. There really isnt anything better than a good crunch before the moist center. This is true of so many foods, why should meatballs be different? They arent. Simple. Drain the oil by putting done balls onto a papertowel. Then straight into the sauce to finish cooking. Internal temp 165.

Baking was another story. I light sprayed some nonstick spray on a sheet pan and arranged the meatballs about 2″ apart. 375 until internal temp of 165. I rotated mine to get the “baking crunch” on top and bottom. Again, these will go straight into the sauce until you’re ready to serve.

Conclusion: Frying was better for texture. Baking really broke down the veggie flavors. I pick frying!! But thats me and my love for crunch.

meatballs2

Conclusion: Frying was better for texture. Baking really broke down the veggie flavors. I pick frying!! But thats me and my love for crunch.

 

 

Leave a Reply

